My Late Valentines Day Post

Standard
My Late Valentines Day Post

First of all I must apologize for it being so long since I have posted anything.  I added a chapter to my thesis so I’ve been furiously writing there instead of here.  I hope that everyone had a great Valentines day!  The boyfriend and I had a good day (he made me dinner!) and he bought me whatever I wanted from Michaels!  Does he know me or what!?!  He also bought these 

I made him a scarf for Valentines day.  He didn’t have one and had commented on a crocheting stitch I was using for a head band I was making.  When he mentioned that, I put all the pieces together, grabbed some red yarn, his favorite color and started.  This stitch is called broomstick lace because I guess that’s what was originally used to make it.  I on the other hand used this!     It’s shimmery and and the knobs at the end keep the stitches from sliding off. No matter what you use, I would suggest something made of plastic of metal.  Other materials such as wood could be rough and might pick the yarn.

While it may initially seem that this is a difficult stitch, in reality once you get the hang of it, it’s actually pretty easy.  To do this stitch you will need a crochet hook, I used size J, a smooth stick-like object, any yarn as long as it’s not too thick or froo froo as both of these would hide how pretty this stitch is, and eventually scissors to cut the yarn when you’re done.  BTW if you’re looking for a great pair of scissors, I recently bought pink handled Singer brand scissors and I am in love with them!  They will cut through just about anything with ease which is something that anyone who has ever struggled with cutting layers of fabric will appreciate.

Step one: Chain 10, you can actually chain any denomination of 5, but for this demonstration I think 10 is probably best 

Step two: Remove your crochet hook from the loop and enlarge the loop to go over whatever version of a broomstick you are using.

Step three: Insert your hook through the next section of your chain and yarn over to pull a loop through.  Place this loop over the stick.  Continue this step until you have completed the chain.  You should have a total of 10 loops on the stick.

Step four: Place crochet hook through the first 5 loops on your stick and yarn over and pull back through. 

Step five: Slip stitch.  If you don’t know what that means, yarn over and pull through the loop on the hook.

Step six: Do 4 more single crochets in the center of the five loops. (ie place hook through the loops, yarn over, pull back through, yarn over, pull through loop on hook.

Steps seven-nine: repeat steps four through six.

Step 10: You have just completed your first row of broomstick lace and it should look like this.      Enlarge the loop that you currently have on your hook and again place it over the stick.

Step 11: Repeat step three across the newly made row, getting a loop from each of the stitches.  You should again have 10 loops at the end.

Step 12-infinity: repeat steps 4-11 until your product is as long as you want.  Here is a portion of the scarf I made.

Side 1 Side 2

If you want whatever you make to be wider just start with a longer chain at the beginning.  Like boyfriend’s scarf was 20 across and therefore I did the whole “go through five loops thing” four times instead of twice.

I’m sorry if these directions are difficult for non-crocheters.  Crocheter or not though, if you get stuck please comment here or e-mail at brushesandthread@gmail.com and I’ll help you get it figured out!  Hope you enjoyed and keep crafting!

Leave a Reply

