Headband Saver

Standard
Headband Saver

I’ve always loved headbands, but since I’ve been growing out my hair, I’ve really been wanting to wear them more.  The problem always was though, that I had no place to store them safely when I wasn’t wearing them. None of them were that expensive, it’s just that I did put money into them and would prefer to not have them ruined.  Because of that, they seemed to have be in a drawer where I couldn’t see them.  Out of sight, out of mind, I always forgot to put them on.

To keep my headbands safe and remember to wear them I devised hanging storage.   Strangely enough it started with an oatmeal tube and two pieces of scrapbook paper.      Those of you who read the post about the typeset box, you know I have a love/hate relationship with scrapbook paper.  This though turned out a lot better than that, I don’t think I cursed once…well maybe once…

After taking all the oatmeal out of the container I cut the paper to size.  Because it wasn’t big enough to go all the way around, I had to take a piece from the second page.  I secured all the pieces of paper with hot glue.    I purposefully cut the paper slightly longer than the height of the tube so that I could bend it over the end.  To do that, I snipped the extra paper with scissors and bent the tabs over before gluing them.    I still didn’t like the look of that though, so I cut 2 circles, one for the top and one for the bottom, and again used hot glue to attach them and make it pretty.  So now I have a good looking tube, but I need to be able to hang it.  I had some extra trim from an earlier project and decided that it looked nice with the paper that I picked.

To attach it I not so carefully punched a hole through the bottom (kids ask for help with this one, I nearly stabbed myself), and glued it on the inside of the tube.   I put another hole through the top and glued in the other side of the trim and TA DA!   Hope you enjoyed the post and I’d love to hear what you think!  Keep crafting!

Leave a Reply

